AudioParameterFloat returning 'inf' in processBlock

This is probably a beginner question, as I am a beginner in JUCE. I’m whipping up an audio plugin. I have created an AudioParameterFloat, and I’ve poked at it with the debugger. In the constructor in my PluginProcessor.cpp I set the default value, and can get the value fine there using get() . When I enter my processingBlock method and ask for the value, I get ‘inf’.

I change it’s value using a slider, which is functioning correctly according to the debugger. Am I misunderstanding something? I can post my code if it will help.

Yes please…
The few lines around where you try to read the parameter (i.e. where it is returning inf.) and eventually the line where you say it works should do…

This is my PluginProcessor.cpp

FishTankAudioProcessor::FishTankAudioProcessor()
{
	// If the sample rate cannot be found, set it to 44.1 kHz; its the most common.
	// Add functionality for sending a message to the user somehow, stating so.
	float aExp;
	float sampRate = AudioProcessor::getSampleRate();

// Get rid of this when you figure out how to fix the getSampleRate from audacity correctly.
	//addParameter(m_sampleRate = new juce::AudioParameterFloat("m_sampleRate", "Sample Rate", 0.0f, 1000.0f, sampRate));
	addParameter(m_sampleRate = new juce::AudioParameterFloat("m_sampleRate", "Sample Rate", 0.0f, 1000.0f, 44.1f));
	addParameter(m_wetDry = new juce::AudioParameterFloat("m_wetDry", "Wet/Dry", 0.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f));
	addParameter(m_lowPassSmoothingRate = new juce::AudioParameterFloat("m_lowPassSmoothingRate", "Smoothing Rate", 1.0f, 1000.0f, 100.0f));
	addParameter(m_a = new juce::AudioParameterFloat("m_a", "a", -100.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f));
	addParameter(m_b = new juce::AudioParameterFloat("m_b", "b", -1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f - m_a->get()));
	m_c = 0.0f;
	calculate();
}

void FishTankAudioProcessor::calculate()
{
	float test = m_sampleRate->get();
	float aExp = -2 * M_PI / (m_lowPassSmoothingRate->get() * 0.001f * m_sampleRate->get());