C++ book

what i’ve learned c++ so far was only myself by doing try compile test (usually the testing part was crappy so the code wasn’t that good either).

Anyway i’d like to do it properly, though i know some and i some practical knowledge i need to find out about mose advanced topics in c++ like memory handling (pointers in c++ new delete, when to do static), what’s a singleton, templates. I’m looking for a book in english ofcourse, as with any other programming language there always exists the “you have to read it” book i was wondering what book is like that for c++. I never got to c++ cause i studied telecomunications and electronics and am a SA right now, so i didn’t get any programming education, just what i was able to get for books and code examples.

I wish jules would write a book id’ definetly buy that, from what i see in his code and how JUCE is done, that would be something.

Any suggestions guys?

My favourite C++ book is Bruce Eckel’s “Thinking in C++”, which is available to read for free online. I was so impressed with it that I bought the bound copy of the book, which came with a very neat set of audio/visual lectures teaching the fundamentals of C to set you up for C++ (a number of slides with accompanying spoken lecture mp3 played alongside in media player). This CD’s content is now also available online for free, and both the C++ book and the C lectures can be obtained from http://www.mindview.net:

Thinking in C++ free eBook and purchase links
Thinking in C: flash lectures

There are a couple of books that people recommend (like C++, How to program) but these days there’s really quite a lot of good books.

You can find books online too, especially on syntax and stuff. Look here: http://www.thefreecountry.com/documentation/onlinecpp.shtml
(Bruce Eckel’s books are popular…as Haydn said…)

Also, you may want to look into design patterns. I suspect Jules is a fan of formal patterns, you can find many of the most common ones in JUCE anyway.