Confusion should I use Thread Pool?

Hi Jules,

I’m trying to make a Hyper terminal kind of application with juce which continuously reads serial port at high baud rates (115200) in windowsxp,
difference being instead of displaying the data on the console I’m logging it in an xml file also updating some openGl components.

Also I have to send some data to the serial port (as serial port being full duplex) without blocking the read but the data to be sent would be
at very low frequency say 0.2 Hz.

I started using juce thread for each of the jobs:

1. Read serial port and write in Queue,
  2. Read Queue and update Xml,
  3. Read Queue and update openGL components,
  4. Write Serial port

and now there are so many threads that the system nearly hangs, when I do all these together. I’m quite new to threads so I think I’m unable to
synchronize them properly. I was just confused whether i should use threadpool parent class and have all these threads as pool jobs, will this
class would do the necessary synchronization for my application.

Any help would be great!
Thanks in advance.

I think what you’re looking for is called overlapped IO.
Thread won’t do it, as they’ll all block on the Serial file handle.
I don’t know for Juce’s support of overlapped IO, but it’s probably handled somewhere.

The library doesn’t provide anything for overlapped IO at the moment, I’m afraid.

You could certainly do this using normal IO and threads, but would have to be smart about it. If you’ve got so many threads that the system hangs, then your design has certainly gone very wrong somewhere! Your 4 tasks sound like reasonable things to have 4 threads doing, but your main problem is to make sure that they communicate with each other in a robust and thread-safe way.

Well have you written any code for serial communication or USB communication in juce?

X-Ryl669 I’m aware of Non overlapped and overlapped IO I’m currently exploring and experimenting