Creating a host platform to run and arrange the order of multiple VSTs/EXEs?

Hi, I’m very new to JUCE and programming in general so please bare with me.

As part of my project, I’m looking for a way to host multiple FX plugins (maybe like 10-20) on a microcontroller (I haven’t decided which one) where the user can decide the order of the plugins and choose which plugins are enabled/disabled. (This is basically a digital pedal board for guitarists).

So is there like a C++ plugin host or something I can make so that the microcontroller can load up the plugins?

Also which format is easier to work with in this case, VSTs or EXEs? I’m guessing the code will be something like:

// Check which plugins enabled and their order (Distortion, Compression, Reverb) 
// Run clean signal through Distortion
// Run distorted signal through Compression
// Run compressed signal through Reverb
// Output reverbed signal

Any help/suggestions/ideas are much appreciated!

I am not exactly sure what you are planning to do…I get the impression that you would be loading 3rd party plugins on the microcontroller? Those plugins would of course have to already exist for the platform, you couldn’t run any Windows or even Linux binary directly on some completely different architecture.

However, if I got that wrong and you are doing your DSPs yourself, I am not sure if a separate plugin system would really even be needed. You could just have your DSPs as part of the main program running on the microcontroller. (You could optionally have a plugin system to allow 3rd parties to develop for your device or to keep your own code cleaner.)

Okay, as you say that you are new to programming, I guess that you might not be aware of the fact, that a software application or plugin is always compiled specific to the processor architecture and operating system it runs on. This means that e.g.