Creating a Note Slide Effect

Hello,

First of all, I want to admit I’m rather new to audio programming.

I’m working with some people to create an 8-bit VST to make sounds similar to the NES. A common effect is note slide. I’m just having some trouble getting started here… here’s what I need:

• bpm (120 )
  • the key pressed (C )
  • the target key (in half-steps) (3 half steps => D# )
  • the duration to slide (quarter-note )

…so that when C is pressed on the keyboard, the note slides up to D# for a duration of a quarter-note.

I figured out how to access the bpm of the DAW, and there is midi input implemented. The target note in half-steps and the speed to slide will be options for the user.

Given all that, what’s a good approach for a note slide? Do I do some linear interpolation on the frequency inside of SynthVoice::renderNextBlock? What kind of equation would be useful here to manipulate the frequency-- given bpm, key pressed, target key, and duration?

It depends on what kind of sound you want to reproduce, but being a total noob on DSP / Audio too, I would think that if you would just generate a sin wave (plenty of examples like that are in the audio section of the JUCE demo) for which you change the frequency progressively should do what you want?

For example if you oscillate between 440Hz and then up to 880Hz I would expect an octave range slide increase?

Now for the 8 bit resolution you could probably take each sample convert it to 32-bit integers rounded values then take the MSB byte and clear all others bit to 0, then convert back to float range and it should give you something rough and 8-bits ? Probably not optimum yet but quite intuitive.

Learning Audio programming here too, so I hope I’m not too far from reality!