Deployment of external libraries (like ffmpeg)

Hello everybody,
i am currently learning a bit of FFmpeg and i am trying to use it for a simple video application (for now just tests). I am linking it dynamically, so ffmpeg is correctly installed somewhere on my machine, i changed my juce project settings and i can compile and link. Seems to work nicely so far. I even read some frames from a file.
But now a crucial question for the long run came up: in my current setup ffmpeg has to be “correctly” installed (PATH variables set, etc.). Would it be possible to distribute FFmpeg together with my app (ideally in a subdirectory) without having the Path-variable touched? How do i have to set up my project, so that the debug version links to my main installation of FFmpeg but the release version links to copy off FFmpeg sitting in a relative path to my compiled application? Is this actually possible?
I hope i expressed my self clearly. It’s complicated stuff and i am still learning…
Clemens

It depends on the platform.

Windows:

• Link against a shared ffmpeg library, provide that DLL with your binary; Typically the DLL has to live in the same directory.

macOS:

• Bundle the library inside your app/plugin bundle. You might need to look into something called RPATH; it provides the runtime linker with a relative path to the library (usually in your ‘Frameworks’ bundle sub-directory).

Thanks for the quick reply, happy to hear that and i can’t wait to test it!

This worked pretty straight forward for windows.

On MacOS i was trying around an i am still confused. There is a lot about this on the forum and the rest of the internet, but somehow i still don’t get it.
In theory i know what i have to do:

1. copy *.dylib files to a subfolder of my Application
  2. Tell the dynamic linker to look for them at the given location

Step 1 is easy. A simple build script does the job (mkdir, cp). But the rest is very confusing.