Detune L/R Channels

Hello! I am a beginner in juce and I started a plugin as my computing science bachelor thesis but the documentation is pretty vague for me so I will use your help :). I have a few questions:

Setup: For a mono input I have two channel chains based on the same processspec.

How do I detune them (separately)?
How do I set their panning? (-63, +63)
How do I set a delay? (making the left one start a few ms after the initial start)

Don’t be afraid to consider me completely dumb in your explainations:)

Aight, so first let’s sort these things by how hard it is:

Easiest: Panning
Then: Delay
Hardest: Detune / Resample

Panning:

that’s basically just having different gain values for each channel and then multiplying every sample of that channel with it. there are a lot of tutorials on how to make simple gain plugins with JUCE, like in the official JUCE tutorials, but also in the juce6 videos of the youtube channel from the audio programmer. Finish some of these tutorials and you’ll probably immediatly have an idea about panning.

Delay:

JUCE has a class called DelayLine for popping and pushing values into a so-called ring buffer, which is needed to delay signals. Kinda hard to explain in short words, but other people can go into detail if they want to. This is just an overview. That being said: Delays in general are not that hard to figure out, but when you want to modulate them, they need to be really good.

Resampling / Tuning: This requires a delay, which is why I consider it the hardest of these. So after you ahve figured out how a delay works you can basically take a delay and change its playback speed to create a granular pitchshifter. with a bit of tweaking, like windowing and parallel processing, you can get them to sound decent, if you are not going for a super natural sound.

1 Like