Dynamic number of houses in the parent and child tutorial

Based on the parent and child component tutorial, I’m trying to generate a dynamic number of houses as a C++ exercise since I’m still fairly new to the language. I attempted this by editing the StreetComponent class as follows:

class StreetComponent : public juce::Component {
public:
    StreetComponent(int numHouses) {
        this->numHouses = numHouses;
        housePtr = new HouseComponent[numHouses];
        for (int i = 0; i < numHouses; i++) {
            addAndMakeVisible(housePtr);
            housePtr++;
        }
    }

~StreetComponent() {
        delete[] housePtr;
    }

void resized() override {
            housePtr->setBounds(50 + 100*i, 175, 50, 50);
            housePtr++;
        }
    }

private:
    HouseComponent* housePtr;
    std::vector<std::unique_ptr<HouseComponent>> housePtrVec;
    int numHouses;
};

And then in the SceneComponent Class, calling the StreetComponent constructor as follows to generate three houses:

class SceneComponent    : public juce::Component
{
public:
    SceneComponent() : street(3)
    {
        addAndMakeVisible (floor);
        addAndMakeVisible(street);
        addAndMakeVisible(sun);
    } ......

However, this is generating an exception that claims a window is being resized during a paint method, so I suppose something in my code is attempting to resize a parent window. Other than these changes, the code is the same as the final version available to download on the tutorial. If anyone can point out what’s going wrong that’d be fantastic, and I can provide more info if needed.