Fastest Plugin Development In JUCE

a) I’m more or less a total newb to programming in C++. I may be level 3 out of a 100…or 1000.
b) I’m generally recognized as an idiot anyway. :smiley:

I’m curious how to speed up development with JUCE. I’m very thankful that such an ultra, mega system like JUCE exists. I just want to make sure I’m understanding it correctly and use its full capabilities.

I jumped into JUCE Friday. By midnight Sunday night I actually got a from-scratch volume knob to work in Reaper. This could have been reduced from 30 hours to 1 hour with a 1-page guide, but that’s another story. :smiley:

I remember my early trials in programming plugins required placing mostly redundant code in 9 different places to get a volume knob to work. Then I started playing around with RackAFX after getting a review copy of Designing Audio Effect Plug-Ins in C++ and really liked the system. (It ain’t perfect and my plugins had problems in Cubase which I never really figured out how to solve or even troubleshoot). Those 9 different places were reduced to maybe 3 and in each case the redundancy made sense. I miss that efficiency a bit.

Now that I’m tinkering with JUCE, it seems I’m back to the 9 different places again with very little of that time investment being necessary (at least in my head).

Question #1: Am I missing out on a faster way to develop plugins?

There is clearly some pertinent data associated with each knob/fader/switch, but I’m thinking I could just enter this sort of thing into a database/spreadsheet/array/function/SOMETHING and it spit out all the boring, redundant stuff for me.

For example:

If I had 14 sliders/knobs on a plugin, I’m sure this particular function doesn’t require extreme custom effort to implement. A looped function could spit this out and, at worst, I could paste it into vs2010.

void Test003AudioProcessorEditor::timerCallback()
{
    Test003AudioProcessor* ourProcessor = getProcessor();