Generating MIDI data for use in DAWs

Hi there. I’m very new to JUCE (and still getting used to C++), so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I would like to build a JUCE audio plug-in that generates MIDI data to be read by a DAW (like Logic or Ableton). I want my DAW to pick up the MIDI just like it would from a USB MIDI keyboard, except the data is generated by my tool.

To start with something simple, I have tried the following so far:

• created a new audio plugin in the projucer
  • In PluginProcessor.cpp, in the Processblock, added
    auto message = MidiMessage::noteOn (1, 5, (uint8) 100);
    MidiBuffer midiBuffer;
    midiBuffer.addEvent(message, 0);
  • As an alternative, I also tried
    MidiMessage message = MidiMessage::noteOn (1, 5, (uint8) 100);
    midiMessages.addEvent (message, 0);

I tried compiling each version, then opened Logic and put the plug-in onto an audio track. I then opened a MIDI instrument track, hoping that it might pick up the MIDI. It doesn’t. What am I doing wrong here?

Have you enabled Plugin MIDI Output under Plugin Characteristics in the Projucer?

Yes, I have! So that’s unfortunately not it. Thanks though.

Works for VST3 versions, for AU I guess you have to set the AU Main Type to kAudioUnitType_MIDIProcessor

Still no luck I’m afraid. Do you think this could be related to me updating my Mac recently? Or maybe something’s wrong with my global paths?

It’s not a path issue if the plugin builds and is seen by the host.

Some hosts have poor support for plugins that generate MIDI output and it can be tricky to coax the host to allow those to run properly.

Did you insert your plug-in as a midi effect before your synth or after as an audio effect? I just tested both VST3 in Reaper and AU in Logic, and it works like a charm. In Logic I had to hit play for the plug-in to produce MIDI