Graphical mapper for velocity curves and similar

Someone must have written a module for taking mouse dragging input on a graph and turning it into a lookup table for mapping an input value to an output value - but I can’t find an example.

It could be either columns for each value, or a line graph.

Has anyone got an example? I’m getting a bit stuck.

Redrawing 128 columns on every drag is inefficient, but making each column its own component is tricky when dragging as enter and exit calls don’t work on drag.

Calling repaint on the whole graph for every pixel mouse movement can’t be a good thing, but avoiding that seems to be working against the structures that are there.

There must be an easy way and I imagine it has been done loads of times for synths and midi stuff.

This is the first time I’ve tried to draw anything in Juce so I may be making total noob mistakes.

Check out the dRowAudio classes… there may be something in the demo which may help you.

Rail

Calling repaint is the only way you are going to get the whole thing to update if that’s what you need.

Are you making 128 independent bars, or a line graph?

Some options to think about:

You don’t have to use separate components if you don’t want to. There’s nothing to stop you detecting and handling the mouse within a component.

OR … If you were doing a bar, you could have them all owned by a parent object which managed sending the mouseDrag information out. Something like:

void Owner::mouseDrag(const MouseEvent & e) { … update bar under cursor … }

Which solves your problem about mouseEnter and Exit events not hitting the sibling components.

Anyway … maybe that helps … :slight_smile:

Have written many such things over the years, and yes, keep it simple - just draw a path, repaint it all, don’t optimise prematurely because it’s really not very much work to draw a line!