Graphics context rendered in hardware or software?

This is a fairly general question, as I am quite new to Juce. Is the normal graphics context hardware accelerated or software based? (http://learn.juce.com/doc/classGraphics.php#details)

I realize there is an OpenGLGraphics context as well, I guess the core of my question is this: 

Is there a hardware accelerated way to draw 2D graphics using convienience methods (like drawLine(), etc in the normal graphics context) AND add post processing shader effects? Or would this all need to be done in raw OpenGL? 

If you turn on the OpenGl context, also the 2D drawing routines are done in OpenGl => huge performance gain.

So I recommend you doing that. And as far as I know there is nothing hindering you from mixing 2D and 3D. So shaders should be OK (not used them myself though).

Maybe you can describe more in detail, what you had in mind with the shader, so someone more knowledgeable can answer.

By "turn on the OpenGL context" do you mean subclassing the component from the OpenGLContext class?

No, I meant: In your main DocumentWindow class create a member variable for the OpgenGlContext. I.e.

class MainAppWindow   : public DocumentWindow
{
public:
    MainAppWindow();

private:

/** OpenGL context. This is used in order to speed up 2D-drawing. I.e. also
        the GUI elements benefit from it.*/
    OpenGLContext openGLContext;    
};

The in the constructor simply attach the main window to the context:

MainAppWindow::MainAppWindow()
{
    //attach OpenGl context to main window
    openGLContext.attachTo(*this);

}

And that's it. Your application is using OpenGl rendering.

1 Like

Awesome, thanks!

Thanks, that's exactly the answer I was looking for as far as the 2D drawing routines go.