How to find exactly which vector subscript out of range in Visual Studio

Hello,
Actually I have two questions.

1. First like in topic: I get error “vector subscript out of range”. It concerns to std::vector. I know what that error means, but the problem is I have a lot of vectors in my app, and I have no idea how to find which one causes the problem. I use Visual Studio, and I am quite new with it, not sure how to debug. I don’t want to spend too much time for understanding VS debuging tools due to fact I usually work in xCode. I use VS just to build my app on Windows.

2. Second question is at all about differences between Mac OSX and Windows. I use exactly the same code on both systems, on both system I set compiler to C++ 14, and both system set maximum optimalisation for fast code. But on Windows I have some memory leakages like above (vectors out of range). But on Mac there are no problems. Could anyone give some advice or hint?

The workflow is always the same in Windows like in OSX. You need to use the debugger, no way around that. The debugger will exactly set your cursor to the place, where things went wrong. You won’t get a better answer. Finding errors in code without using (and understanding) the debugger, is like finding a sick ant in an anthill…

Same answer like 1: The debugger will tell you in the most convenient way. Nobody will have better answers than the debugger already produces.

Memory leaks are something different than vector subscripts out of bounds: A memory leak is memory, that is not freed when the stack is unrolled at the end of it’s lifetime, vs. vector subscript out of bounds means accessing memory, that is not under your control.

We don’t see your debugger, hence we can’t answer your questions.

There is no way around “spending time to understand the debugger”, sorry…

Hey Daniel,