How to use AudioProcessorValueTreeState's SliderAttachment?

I’m having trouble figuring out how to use AudioProcessorValueTreeState::SliderAttachment

Can somebody who knows, please list the steps needed to set this up?

i’m very lost here :disappointed_relieved:

It’s easier than you think - just create one, and while it exists, it’ll connect the slider to that value.

1 Like

do i need to add a parameter to the AudioProcessorValueTreeState, or anything else like that?

(so far, just creating the sliderAttachment with the correct args doesn’t seem to work for me)

edit: rereading the documentation, it seems obvious i have to create a parameter in the AudioProcessorValueTree…yeah?

Well, yeah, it’d be tricky to tell it which parameter to control if there isn’t one…

this is my first time trying to use any of the audioProcessorParameter classes, so obviously i’m doing something really wrong here. Here’s what i have so far:
(and sorry, it’s a button i’m trying to connect at the moment, not a slider)

in my PluginProcessor.h, as a public variable:

AudioProcessorValueTreeState mainValueTree;

and then here are the first lines of my PluginProcessor’s constructor:

PluginProcessor::PluginProcessor()
:   mainValueTree (*this, nullptr)

{
    mainValueTree.state = ValueTree ("mainValueTree");

NormalisableRange<float> buttonRange (0, 1, 1);
    mainValueTree.createAndAddParameter ("clockForwards", "ClockForwards", "clock forwards", buttonRange, 0, nullptr, nullptr);

and then in my GUIcomponent.h

AudioProcessorValueTreeState::ButtonAttachment* clockForwardsButtonAttachment;

and then finally, in the constructor of my GUIcomponent.cpp, after the clockForwards button is added, i have:

clockForwardsButtonAttachment = new AudioProcessorValueTreeState::ButtonAttachment (p.mainValueTree, "clockForwards", *clockForwards);

this doesn’t work, and gives me a seg fault. Obviously i’m doing it wrong, but quite in the dark here how to do it right.