I'm applying for a grant to finance a project

Hello everyone,

I’m new here. I haven’t really used JUCE although I researched many years ago when I saw MaxMSP was rebuilt in JUCE. I’m programmer, designer, musician, yadda yadda.

I’m applying for a small grant in order to develop either a prototype or MVP for a concept. There are many ways to approach a prototype. I can fake it. It can be barely functional. Maybe it’s a good idea to start building in JUCE. Maybe it’s a bad idea.

I’d love to get opinions on developing MVPs and prototypes in JUCE.

• What has your experience been when fleshing out your ideas?
  • Is it a good to approach it this way or would you recommend other technologies for prototyping? (MaxMSP for example which I have a lot of experience with).

What am I developing (depending on the grant)?

A sort of experimental, lightweight, DAW focused exclusively on scoring.

You’re applying for a grant to build a prototype? I’m not the brightest spark in a welders shed but applying for financial aid when you haven’t got a prototype ready sounds risky.

• How do you know you can actually accomplish the goal?
  • What happens if you can’t but you’re stuck paying back the money?

Also, would this financier not want to see an actual prototype first? They’re not just gonna give money to anybody, or they’d go bankrupt quickly.
It would be like going on Shark Tank and saying “I haven’t got anything with me, but I do have an idea”. How do we know this idea actually works? Or if you can even accomplish such a feat?

Not meant to be rude either, FYI, just worried that you might be backing yourself into a dangerous corner.

Aside from that, JUCE is perfect for both prototypes AND finished products. Since it is a DAW, before even dreaming about sending off an application, consider the following;

• build a basic piano roll
  • build a basic project save and load function
  • build a basic arranger/tracklist manager
  • build a basic mixer