Image pixels y problem

Preface

I’m a professional game programmer, I’m using JUCE in my personal time, specifically for #devember. I’ve never used it. I choose it because of the audio management code.

The problem

Here you can see the problem https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/176695674262257665/784880086599860234/unknown.png .
I’m testing the software way of manipulation of an image and clearly the y is drunk. I’ve also tested drawing with different functions, positions and scales: https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/176695674262257665/784891050925228062/unknown.png

What am I doing wrong?

I’m on linux, latest build of JUCE, 1 dec 2020.

Here’s the repo https://bitbucket.org/theGiallo/spectral_painter .

I’m really lost and I could turn back to my happy crappy opengl code with fast compilation times and hot reload. Please help me. Thank you.

I don’t know how it’s supposed to look, but just in case -in Juce, 0,0 is top-left, x goes left to right, y goes top to bottom.

Well, we can’t see the code that is actually being executed here, because tick_tock is always 1, which is always less than 240/2. So the else block will execute, and we can’t see that code here.

If the code shown were executed, though, it would always give greyscale values (x01 * 255 for r, g and b), because, again, tick_tock is always 1, which is always less than 240 / 2 + 240 / 4.

What are you trying to do?

So, here tick_tock, is used to generate a temporal partitioning to have many different images, looping in time. That variable is incremented each update and it’s looped back once it reaches the end value. I’m used to write this kind of stuff on shadertoy.com. Here I’m choosing the color of each pixel based on it’s coordinates. I’m doing this to test that the pixels are where I think they to be. Using only the x as grayscale works correctly. Using only the y should generate the same image but rotated, instead it’s the image you can see linked above.