Images in loops

Hello,

I am new with Juces and hope you can give me some guidance.

I have actually two problems.

1. I would like to display images (more or less a video)
  2. How can I change images by time

To 1: What is the proper component to display an image? I found classes such as Images & Graphics to store and modify images but I am not able to put them on the Front Window (with exception as background).

To 2: I am using a webcam, which provides me a new image each time I call the aquire-function. Juce is “event driven”. How can I call the acquire function in a kind of loop without pressing a juce component?

Thanks,
sag

Sounds like you need to get familiar with the Timer class.

And for displaying an image, any component will do - you can just draw it in your paint() routine. The juce demo is full of examples of images being drawn, have a look in there.

Hello Jules,

thank you for your advise.

So, I can use the paint-method as a kind of main loop?

Regards,
sag

I don’t really understand what you mean. There’s no such thing as a “main loop” in event-driven programming.

Hello Jules,

thank you for your answer. I am used to program micrcontrollers. There you have both, a main function and events. So I thought also here it is possible to have both.

I checked out the Multitimer, which are really simple to use. But I have a Problem when I exit the program.

I used the Jucer to construct some buttons, etc. I added a class, lets call it MY_TIMER which is dervied from MultiTimer. The program runs well as long I do not use the timer. The timer also works properly, but if I exit the program after I called a method of a certain object of MY_TIMER I get a crash, exception or access violation.

Do I need to consider sth when I use timers?

Regards,
sag