Inserting audio into DAW from VST plugin?

A friend and I have been planning an app to automate some of the busy-work done by DJs in DAWs like Ableton. The hope is to be able to programmatically insert audio tracks into the DAW workspace, which the DJ can then continue working on.

I’m a C++ developer, but without much experience writing audio software. I’ve been doing a lot of reading on VST plugins, but can’t seem to find a straight answer to this question: can a VST plugin be used to insert audio into the DAW?

Most documentation I can find assumes that the VST plugin will be used to process audio that the DAW is already trying to play (for the purpose of applying effects). Are VST plugins only used for these sorts of DSP tasks? Or can a VST plugin be used to script the insertion of audio files from the hard drive into the DAW timeline?

Maybe we need to go the standalone app route, but thought I would double check with the experts in the JUCE community :wink:

VST plugins have no usable API for what you want. (Technically, there’s a very obscure thing in VST2.4 that is supposed to do offline processing of files but it’s not really implemented by any significant DAW. Juce also doesn’t have support for that anyway.)

The only viable way I see is that you would implement a way to drag audio files out of the plugin to be inserted into the host. Or maybe in Ableton Live you could look into what is possible to do with the Max/MSP integration? (That’s not C++ programming though, unless you implement an external object into Max…)

Definitely not without some specific host hackery, i.e. it’s not part of any standard. Normally a plugin is for processing audio passed to it (an effects plugin) or generating audio (a synth).