Issue Regarding Rotating svg that is attached to knob

Hello Everyone!
I am a newbie to JUCE and to programming in general. I am having an issue where the image on my slider appears to rotate slightly off center. It almost appears if the getwidth() and getheight() functions are not giving me the correct height and width. Here is the code that I am using to rotate the .svg around the slider.

gainSkin->draw(g, 1.0f, rotator.rotated((float)sliderPosProportional * rotaryEndAngle, (float)(gainSkin->getWidth() / 2), (float)(gainSkin->getHeight() / 2)));

If someone could lead me to an example of this implementation that would be great! Thanks in advance!

You could try

gainSkin->draw(g, 1.0f, rotator.rotated((float)sliderPosProportional * rotaryEndAngle, gainSkin->getWidth() * 0.5f, gainSkin->getHeight() * 0.5f));

to correctly account for the missing half pixel if your size is an add number.

PS.: Just guessing

Huh. I implemented it and it still was doing the little jiggle around the center. I think the issue has to deal with the actual function because theoretically, wouldn’t getheight()/2 be more accurate than getheight() *0.5?

I tried your solution out and the slight movement is persisting.

This one has me stumped 8^)

I also was looking at this solution: [Solved] Drawable Rotation Around Center - #4 by mosgamal

However in that one the issue was with the renderer Inkscape. I checked the “viewbox” property in my .svg and it was: viewBox=“0 0 70 70” - which are nice whole numbers.

If getHeight() returns an odd integer and you do /2 on it, you’ll end up with the rounded down (truncated) result. That’s just how integer math works. You did the cast to float after the division.

If it returns a float, both do the same.

Regarding the view box: is your shape or whatever actually centred in your viewbox? What happens if you put two pixel wide cross hairs exactly through the centre of the viewbox?

1 Like