Juce and file saving

I’m a novice programmer, trying to build a piece of sequencing software and learning C++ and Juce as I go. Right now, I am trying to build a rudimentary system which will read and write the variables within a custom class to a file (hopefully one day this will become the saving and loading system for the program). I have a sense of how to do this using data streams in the STL library. On the other hand, I’m almost certainly going to do a bad job of it, and this is a problem that must have been solved thousands of times before.

Does Juce contain any tools which automate the file saving process? How is the problem usually solved? I’m not so much asking how exactly to do it, and more asking where I should invest time: into learning Juce modules or C++ and STL basics.

Sorry if this topic turns out to be less about Juce and more about C++.

That is a really broad question with no yes/no answer. It really depends, what you want to save or load, and what structure you read it into (this process is called serialisation, btw.). So if you want to read something and construct a JUCE object from it, it makes sense to use the juce::File and juce::FileInputStream.
For Audio there are the AudioFormat classes available, and same for ImageFileFormat.
For hierarchical data that you produce yourself, the ValueTree is a good pick, since it allows also callbacks when it is manipulated.

If however the constructed object is completely independent from juce, and there is no ready reader/parser available, it would be considered good practice to avoid additional dependencies.

But another angle to look at this is, what technology you feel most comfortable with…