JUCE GUI freeze when starts PortAudio stream

Hi,

I am new to audio programming and JUCE. I am writing an audio mixer which can receive two input devices and two output devices. It seems that JUCE native AudioDeviceManager class can only open one device at a time, so I am currently implementing this requirement with Portaudio with JUCE GUI.

I created a GUI button, the onclick callback function opens the Portaudio streams.

MainComponent::MainComponent()
{
    // click this button to launch Portaudio stream
    addAndMakeVisible(applyButton);
    applyButton.setButtonText("Apply");
    applyButton.onClick = [this] { applyConfigChange(); };
}

void MainComponent::applyConfigChange() {
    // The GUI freeze because the execution of the below method starting a Portaudio stream
    sm.startStream(....);
}

I have read some audio tutorials and I guess the reason that the GUI freezes is that the PortAudio stream is running in the GUI thread. I am also aware that getNextAudioBlock of AudioAppComponent class runs in the Audio thread. However, I don’t think I can use it because it is called for processing each JUCE audio block, but my block processing is done by Portaudio.

I am looking for a method to have the button onclick callback function running in an individual audio thread other than the getNextAudioBlock, or any other ideas.

Thanks.

I have no experience with PortAudio, but a quick look at the Pa_StartStream( stream ); call does not seem to indicate that this is a blocking function. It looks like it begins the audio processing, which in turn starts calling your callback.
After calling Pa_StartStream(), PortAudio will start calling your callback function to perform the audio processing.
I would assume that callback happens on a thread created by PortAudio, but I could be wrong.

IIRC PortAudio also has a processing mode where it waits for the current thread to push in audio. If that is active, I don’t suppose that would work that well with Juce.