JUCE Mentor Needed

Hello,

I am a high school student in an Innovations class, where I get an entire year to work on a passion project. So, I will be creating a VST instrument using JUCE and some other libraries. For the class, I need a mentor to ask questions to and, in general, keep my ideas and project on point. I would need to meet up with you (over Zoom or Skype) every couple weeks.

You don’t have to be an expert, but if you have made some form of a VST in the past, I would greatly appreciate having you to go to as my primary source with any problems or confusion I am having.

If you have any further questions, please ask.

Thank you,
Ethan

have you learned C++ yet? or are you learning JUCE and C++ simultaneously?

I’m in an online video course for C++, and I’ve gotten through the basics of its file organization, syntax, and structure. I can always look back through the videos if I don’t understand something in C++, and I do like figuring things out on my own, so I shouldn’t have too many questions. I’ll be following YouTube tutorials on JUCE. Don’t worry, I won’t overwhelm you with questions.

I see you’re in The Audio Programmer’s Discord, which is who’s videos I’ll probably be following for most JUCE stuff.

Others are going to harp me on this but the guy knows his stuff with synths.

Check out this textbook. It has a good overview of synthesis theory and design, albeit the C++ is a little less than modern.

I’ve seen so many textbooks being thrown around for audio programming, is it really worth it to buy one?