Mouse data to MIDI

Hi, I’m a casual programmer so this thread might seem stupid.

I had an idea to make a desktop program that would listen for a specific hotkey to be held down. When that condition is met, it would make the mouse cursor disappear and use some processing to generate MIDI CC messages based on its movement speed. Hopefully it feel similar to a stringed instrument bow if done right. You would be able to find this program in your DAW’s MIDI input devices and record it on a track.

I’m a bit confused where to do this processing though, since no audio is actually processed. Should I be doing stuff in getNextAudioBlock()?

When I try to do something simple like just read the location of the mouse on the screen and print it, it only updates when the app first starts up.

read up on MouseListener methods and how to override them.

When I read about MouseListeners, it seems like they are designed more for mouse functions performed on or within a component. I’m more after tracking general mouse position when a hotkey is pressed.

I was thinking of using Desktop::getInstance().getMainMouseSource().getScreenPosition().getX() and Desktop::getMainMouseSource().enableUnboundedMouseMovement() to achieve the mouse behavior I want. I’m just unsure of where exactly to be calling these.

I read some info that it isn’t possible to create a virtual MIDI output on Windows, so it looks like I am going to be making a plugin version of this.

Is there a way to get the current sample in the buffer? I want to process faster than just every block, and I’m not sure how to get output from my mouse processor into a buffered format.

On Windows you’d normally use one of these:

https://www.tobias-erichsen.de/software/loopmidi.html

Then send your MIDI events to the output of the virtual MIDI port and activate the input in your DAW. On macOS you can create MIDI ports easily.