Mouse over scrollbar causes paint() to fire?

(I apologize for my verbiage, I am new to JUCE).

Win32 x64

I have a component _rMidiTrackDisplay
I have a Scrollbar attached at the bottom of the component

I position the ScrollBar at the bottom of the _rMidiTrackDisplay (component) As Such:

void _rMidiTrackDisplay::resized()
{juce::Rectangle Bounds=(this->getLocalBounds)();
(this->ScrollBar->setSize)((Bounds.getWidth)(),_RMIDI_TRACKDISPLAY_SCROLLBARHEIGHT);
(this->ScrollBar->setTopLeftPosition)(0,(Bounds.getHeight()-_RMIDI_TRACKDISPLAY_SCROLLBARHEIGHT));
}

When I move the mouse over the ScrollBar (anywhere on it) it causes a Paint event to fire (void _rMidiTrackDisplay::paint(Graphics& Graphics))
I am not clicking on the scrollbar, the mouse buttons are not down.
I am simply moving the mouse over the scroll bar.

The Graphics.getClipBounds() in paint() is the entire client area of the Scroll Bar.

Why does this happen?
How can I prevent It?

Thanks in advance

By default juce::Component objects assume they can have transparency or “empty” sections, allowing you to see parts of other components behind them. Because this is the case, repainting those components causes the components in the background to also be repainted.

There is a function Component::setOpaque(bool) which allows you to inform the component of whether or not its graphics truly cover up everything behind it or not.

When you have a component that draws graphics over its entire bounds (so nothing behind it can be seen) you should call setOpaque(true) on it. This prevents the components behind from also being repainted when the opaque component is repainted

Thank Tony.
Very informative.

You are correct.

But when I set (ScrollBar->setOpaque)(true); the contents which is in the component (above the scrollbar) gets duplicated into the scroll bar client area (the top part of the content, the height of the scroll bar).

I will poke at it a little further to see if I can disseminate what is going on.