Newbie: Project Conversion

Hi all,

I am new to almost everything here
:wink:

I am writing a professional application in Visual Basic 6. (A Realtime Financial Data Display Client) It’s been 8 years now and I am looking for a framework to rewrite whole thing in C++.

Basically it’s a MDI application having around 60 MDI Child Data Display Forms. These forms range from a Technical Analysis Form (with full indicator, trend lines, etc. support) to highspeed Transcation Views (very lightweight, pure virtual grids). The codebase is around 400 classes and 130000 lines.

My requirements are mainly:

1. MDI
  2. User customizable Menus,Toolbars
  3. Runtime Language Switch
  4. Full Network support (HTTPS, IP, UDP, etc.)
  5. Custom Grid & SpreadSheet

I am already very much impressed from what I saw at JUCE. I know JUCE lacks some of my requirements, and I am ready to write the lacking parts. I would like to hear your comments on the project. Can I rely on JUCE for the project which I suppose will take 1 to 2 years.

I am also new to C++, but have a friend as consultant that I can trust. So I will need some time to get fluent with C++ and JUCE.

Thanks all

First of all, staying nice and not commenting on VB, I worked with it near exclusively probobly 8 years ago, havn’t touched it since C++ focus. :slight_smile:

MDI would be easy to do in Juce.
User Customizable Menu’s, depending on the interface you want, can be quite easy, could be… interesting to write, but quite possible.
Runtime Language Switch? Elaborate?
Not even winsock is good for that; Juce just has things for TCP single transactions. I’ve recommend ha… hak, ha-something, can’t remember the name, I can find it if needbe. It is multi-platform as well.
Custom Grid and spreadsheets, depending on the functionality you want I have something simple for displaying and simple editing already, but there is no dedicated one created yet. Can create it of course.