Playing Midi notes or audio samples at precise times(Novice)

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner to Tracktion and JUCE, I done a couple tutorials, watched some videos and read some of the documentation. I am working on a project for University and I am trying to play MIDI notes (or audio samples) at precise times (<10ms latency ) over a period of a set time. For example

(100ms, 300ms, 600ms) and period 1000ms

And then looping that period so events would play at

100ms ,300ms 600ms, 1100ms, 1300ms, 1600ms….

Or with
(100ms, 300ms, 600ms) and period 900ms

100ms, 300ms, 600ms, 1000ms, 1200ms, 1500ms, 1900ms

I am looking for a starting point of which classes I should be using to store the time sequence and how to create midi events at precise times. And or perhaps a demo/example that would have some required components so I can try and dissect it.

The MIDI Recording Demo is probably the best place to start as it shows how to record MIDI in to a clip and play it back. It also deals with transport looping etc.

Maybe take a look there first and then we can help with any further questions you might have.

By MIDI Recording Demo, did you mean “Handling MIDI events” tutorial example or one of the examples in “examples” folder under the JUCE directory tree?

I believe he was referring to the tracktion engine midi recording demo. You can view all the tracktion examples here: https://github.com/Tracktion/tracktion_engine/tree/master/examples

Thanks for the response, yes it was the midi recording Demo in the examples folder. I have two different methods from other forum posts. I am trying to decide which approach would be best.

One the just add notes every 5 beats

auto track = tracktion_engine::getAudioTracks(*edit)[trackNumber];

if (dynamic_cast<tracktion_engine::MidiClip*> (track->getClips()[0]) == nullptr)
    {
        midiClipPtr = dynamic_cast<tracktion_engine::MidiClip*>
            (track->insertNewClip(tracktion_engine::TrackItem::Type::midi, { 0, 9999 }, nullptr));