"punch" effect or bell curve filter

Hello,

I’m new to juce (I’ve done a few of the tutorials so far) and am looking to create a “punch” effect, (50 hz to 180 hz range), which I understand is done by creating a bell-curve filter. Does anyone know if this can be done with juce? I assume the DSP module has the answer.

I looked for examples, but was unable to find them.

Thanks for any reply!
…John

the closest i can find is this because it has a bandpass, but yes, that’s not a bell. i probably just don’t see it though. let’s wait for the juce pros to reply. https://docs.juce.com/master/classdsp_1_1StateVariableFilter_1_1Filter.html#details

however for a “punch”-effect i’d also look into the topic of envelope generators modulating the gain of the signal

1 Like

So what exactly should this “punch-effect” be used for?

If you really only want to make low frequencies louder, then a basic IIR filter could probably already help you. No need for a state variable filter here. However, depending on your use-case this could not lead to the desired result, as increasing low end volume needs the rest of the chain, from the digital signal you produce to the amplifier and speakers you want to play them back with to have enough headroom to process that increased amplitude, which probably might not be the case if you are e.g. (as a worst case scenario) planing to process some already mastered music and play them back via phone or laptop speakers. For that cases you really need some more complex processing algorithms, which are not available as ready to use building blocks in juce.

So maybe tell us more about your use case so that we can recommend you better solutions.

1 Like

Hello,

Sorry for my late reply. I got caught in a wave of work. I’m doing this for someone else, so I had him read the messages here. Here’s what he said: