Running Plugin through Live 9.6.1 opens xcode, crashes live and stops system audio (MAC)

Hi,

I’m studying a module in audio software dev and university and I have began to prototype the different elements I will need for my final project, an LUFS meter. I have been watching The Audio Programmers tutorials to get an idea of the first part of the LUFS meter Filtering.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YJ4YbV6TDo0&t=626s (Tutorial I followed)

Unlike the tutorial, I did not implement a means for the user to change the cutoff fq and Q as these are not user controlled. But processes the buffer of audio goes through before the loudness calculation.

I want these to happen as "background’ processes which do not effect the signal coming from the speakers (the user can hear their track whilst viewing a UI detailing the LUFS level) I may have to implement the filter in a different place, or create a copy of the audio (which will be uploaded into the app) which goes through the LUFS stages and one which gets played directly.

However, when I try to test the implementation of the filter (LUFS uses a high shelf and then high pass) the plugin will not run in live, when I drag it to an audio track it opens xcode and then crashes live and my audio drivers. I am also unable to open it as a standalone app… it says audio is muted to prevent a feedback loop.

Please find attached my code… any help would be appreciated!:slight_smile:

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/14RewXPbF8pkTqQkUM-otVbecKUi9AG67?usp=sharing

What do you mean by “opens Xcode”? Are you running Live via the debugger? If so, what is Xcode showing? That might help to narrow down the problem.

Well what happens if you un-mute it? Does the plug-in work as expected?

Hey Tom,

When I drag the plugin onto a track, the code opens in Xcode rather than creating an instance of a Live plugin.

I’m not able to, it pin wheels the entire time it is open.

JUCE Assertion failure in juce_ProcessorDuplicator.h:70