Two FIFO's to reduce latency?

I’m trying to reduce the latency of my pitch estimator app which uses an FFT. My idea is to use 2 FIFO’s with the second one starting to fill when the first one is half filled, to estimate pitch twice as often. I am not able to find info on if/when this is a good idea. I’ve also read about circular buffers, but I am not clear on when they add benefit. Below is some rough code of my idea. Am I on the right track, or is this a bad idea? I’m fairly new to audio programming and C++.

void pushNextSampleIntoFifo (float sample) noexcept
{
    // Fill first fifo
    if (fifo1Index == fftSize)
    {
        zeromem (fft1Data, sizeof (fft1Data));
        memcpy (fft1Data, fifo1, sizeof (fifo1));
        estimatePitch(1);
        fifo1Index = 0;
    }        
    fifo1[fifo1Index++] = sample;

// Fill second fifo   
    if (fifo2Index == fftSize)
    {
        zeromem (fft2Data, sizeof (fft2Data));
        memcpy (fft2Data, fifo2, sizeof (fifo2));
        estimatePitch(2);
        fifo2Index = 0;
    }

if (fifo1Index > fftSize/2 || fifo2Index > 0)
    {
        fifo2[fifo2Index++] = sample;
    }
}

i tried this too. it works. you get pitch twice as often. unfortunately you still need a high order on each fft to get it quite precise so it can get rather clunky to process

1 Like

You don’t need two FIFOs, I implemented overlapping buffers (which you should do anyway due to windowing) by

• take a buffer once available
  • only mark half the buffer size as consumed
  • the read pointer only advances a half block by doing that and you will be triggered after the next half block.
2 Likes
1 Like

I’m having a little trouble wrapping my brain around this. Conceptually, does this accomplish the same thing as my idea, but more efficiently?

Yes, because both FIFOs would store the same signal, wouldn’t they?

1 Like

Here’s an example:

int start1, size1, start2, size2;

mFIFOManager.prepareToRead(mFFTBufferSize, start1, size1, start2, size2);