Use Path for MIDI velocity scaling graph

Hi everyone,
I’m starting my journey on JUCE development and sometimes I wonder whether what I am doing makes sense or not and, as a beginner, I could use some advice here.

My target is to create a component that displays an editable MIDI velocity scale curve. I want user to be able to add points and change the shape of each segment by mouse interaction, so I am using Path::cubicTo and some mouse events handling.

The display and the user interactivity parts are working fine.
Now I need to mathematically invert the curve, I’d ideally need y = getYatX(myPath, x) so I can actually scale out incoming MIDI notes

I see PathFlatteningIterator might be one solution here, so I can approximate the path in a piecewise linear fashion and calculate the Y with some little error around the corners I guess.

I wonder, when doing stuff like this (I am thinking to Envelopes, ADSR, user defined waveforms etc) is this the “usual / recommended” approach?

Any better way of doing this?

yeah, the Path class really does need a getYatX(Path& path, float x) method…

I think the problem with the PathFlatteningIterator is the slowdown when your path gets or complex and is broken up into lots of tiny little flat segments. you could end up with a subPath that needs interating for every single pixel, and if your window is 300px, well, that’s 300 paths you gotta iterate thru to find your y value.

Is there another way? maybe using some kind of math-based approach? You said you’re using cubic curves, so maybe you could just pass the parameters to each cubic segment to some kind of cubic bezier curve algorithm. maybe one of the formulas shown here: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/15397596/find-all-the-points-of-a-cubic-bezier-curve-in-javascript