Want to learn good C++ and set up a simple demo project - Feedback welcome!

Hi,

As I’m a student of electrical engineering, I learned some C programming for microprocessors at university, after that I taught myself how to use C++ in the context of Arduino programming, but I never learned C++ in any lecture from scratch. But I had a Java lecture some years ago. Even if I don’t remember any piece of Java code, it gave me a good impression of the ideas behind object oriented programming.
I’m familiar with theory and practice of digital (audio) signal processing and I’m a musician and sound engineer myself, but I only did MATLAB and MAX MSP based software Projects and FPGA based hardware projects until now. My goal is to be able to use the power of modern CPUs for linux powered embedded audio devices as well as for cool Mac/PC based Audio Plugins in future.

So it’s time for me to learn a lot of different stuff. As a starting point, I want to start improving my C++ skills and then go on and practice some other programming languages. I’m glad to have found JUCE as an easy starting point. I already played around with a simple VST plugin, but I think it’s good to get familiar with efficient algorithm programming before starting to build a gui, so I started with a simple command line tool, placing a biquad filter between the default system in- and output. It is meant to be a learning project rather than to be a really useful application.

You’ll find my project here: https://github.com/JanosGit/simpleAudioFilters

I wanted to try to focus on different things:

• inheritance: The biquad class inherits from the myAudioProcessor class, myAudioProcessor should be a base class for all classes that process audio and should have virtual member functions, that are implemented by its child classes
  • readability: The code should be well structured to help other people understanding my code. I’m no native english speaker, but I tried to use my best english :wink: