What is an example of a plugin API and SDK

Hi I am new to this and am looking for an explanation of terms I am confused about.

JUCE is an IDE, is that correct?
What then is a plugin API?
What is the SDK for a plugin?

Thanks in advance.

API and SDK is a bit redundant, in that case it is synonymous.

A plugin API is the interface which a host can use to call functionality defined in the plugins in order to extend the features of the DAW.
Those are the most notable plugin API:

• VST3 by Steinberg
  • AU by Apple (Apple only)
  • AAX by Avid (ProTools and MediaComposer only)
  • VST (deprecated, only existing products)
  • LADSPA - a linux plugin API
  • LV2 - also a linux plugin API (not targeted by JUCE)

JUCE is NOT an IDE. The Projucer is a bit of an IDE, but that part is not developed further, so Projucer is actually used to set up projects, that you edit and compile in a “real” IDE like Visual Studio, Xcode, CLion etc.
The same taks can be done without Projucer using cmake, a cross platform project setup tool.

Hope that clears it up a bit

Thanks very much for the rapid reply. Just so I am clear, API & SDK are the same?

So the API is actually the type of plugin AAX, AU, VST3?

So JUCE is a framework?

JUCE → library
Visual Studio, Xcode → IDE
plug-in/add on software → software that is added to a host software that performs specific tasks.

A plug-in example can be a photoshop plug-in that auto-draws a grid for you. Or an audio plug-in that distorts the signal of incoming audio. Or like the RedGiant addons for After Effects.

An IDE is just a software that you build the software in, debug the software and code the software.