A basic code on how to add the IIR Filter?

Hi everybody, is there any basic tutorial about adding the IIR filter ? Thank You in advance !

Hi @fabi74,
it is quite straight forward.

Version a)
Create a filter instance for each channel / signal. To set the filter up use the static methods in IIRCoefficients, e.g.:

filter = new IIRFilter (IIRCoefficients::makeHighPass (sampleRate, 1000, 1.0)); // in prepareToPlay

filter->processSamples (buffer.getWritePointer (i), buffer.getNumSamples());    // in processBlock

Caveat: have a separate instance for each channel, otherwise the state of the filter doesn’t match the signal and you get distortions when swapping the channel / each block.

Version b)
Use an IIRFilterAudioSource, should be straight forward as well

HTH

2 Likes

Hi @daniel, thank You very much for Your help ! I’m very very new to C++ and JUCE ( I’m reading pdf and stuff to improve this new interest). One last question, if it is not too much (I really need to understand the first steps).Then in my experiment I need to assign the slider which I’ve already created and named “cutoffSlider” to manage the filter but it’s hard to me to indentify which variable I have to declare in order to manage the IIR filter with the slider ( I’ve tried to look for this example but unfortunately there are few thread for beginners) Thank You in advance my friend Have a lovely day ! :slight_smile:

You can set new coefficients to the filter in the processBlock. It is a good idea to have a member storing the last value of your parameter, so you do nothing, if it wasn’t changed. I’m assuming you have your filters in an array for each channel:

if (*cutOff != lastCutOff) {
    for (auto filter : filters) {
        filter->setCoefficients (IIRCoefficients::makeHighPass (getSampleRate(), *cutOff, 1.0f));
    }
    lastCutOff = *cutOff;
}