A proposal to improve repainting of Juce components

Greetings, Persons of Orange.

I’ve been whinging :wink: for a few months about an issue I had about repaint rectangles on Juce (which I mistakenly believed was only happening on OS/X). I’ve finally diagnosed it, and I have a potential solution that should speed up repaints on quite a few Juce clients while maintaining complete backward compatibility.

The Problem

Consider the following near-trivial Juce app - an app that is 1000x1000 pixels in size and has the following components:

[list]Window - a top-level Component (say, a ResizeableWindow)
Content - a content Component contained in Window.
Top - an opaque Component with bounds [0, 0, 1000, 500], contained in Content.
Bottom - an opaque Component with bounds [0, 500, 1000, 500], contained in Content.
[/list]

And let us suppose that none of these Components implement Component::paintOverChildren - which apparently is the most common case.

Now, suppose we rapidly animate just the individual pixels at global coordinates (0, 0) and (999, 999). What happens?

In a given update cycle, we dirty (0, 0) in Top and (999, 999) in Bottom. These propagate up to Window, the dirty rectangle is computed as [0, 0, 1000, 1000] and this clip rectangle propagates back down to force a complete redisplay of Top and Bottom - 1,000,000 pixels.

But because there are no implementations of Component::paintOverChildren in any of these components, once, say, Top has written pixel (0, 0), it is guaranteed that no other component will write over (0, 0). In fact, we only needed to update 2 pixels…

An easy solution

A simple fix would be to add a flag wontPaintOverChildren with a setter, and test to see if this flag were set before dirtying the parent. It’s backward compatible, adds on bit flag, and, for all components that do NOT use that feature, a single bit test… tiny!

The code is below, and in fact I’m going to go off and tweak Juce to work this way, stay tuned!