AAX IDs / legacy version not replaced

Hi,

I have rewritten a plugin that was formerly only available for tax / ProTools. It was written with vstGUI and had the Manufacturer ID, Product ID, and channel IDs also for AudioSuite and TI DSP. DSP is not implemented in the new version yet. If I understand this correctly in the Projucer settings I can set Manufacturer ID and must set the Plugin Code as Product ID. My first question is what exactly is the Plugin AAX Identifier? Am I getting something wrong here?

I read that for the ChannelSet IDs I have to manually overwrite getAAXPluginIDForMainBusConfig() function which I did. So for Mono and Stereo the legacy IDs are returned, for the bus configurations IDs get assigned as they were before with Juce. I set the version number higher in Juce Settings but still ProTools shows them as two different plugins.

Can anybody help me out here. I am not a programmer and managed to get everything else working including signing and notarizing with pace. So this becomes a pita. Also one last question for now. I have rewritten the getAAXPluginIDForMainBusConfig() in audio processor module. Since the global path points to the modules and, if I get this correctly, this is used for all projects I have to isolate the project that needs this modification? What is the best way to do this? Just have a separate version of Juce for this project so it doesn’t affect others?

Any help is highly appreciated.
Thanks
Martin

Pro Tools will identify your plugin using the supplied Plugin AAX Identifier, so you must specify it if you’re building AAX.

For returning the ChannelSet IDs you need to follow a slightly different approach, especially since getAAXPluginIDForMainBusConfig() has been deprecated for current versions of JUCE.

You need to create a class in your plugin project that inherits from AAXClientExtensions. Inside this class you should override getPluginIDForMainBusConfig() and return the IDs that your previous plugin returned.