About monitoring MIDI devices, you need to reopen the program after unplugging

Hi, hello,

I’m just getting started with juce, and now I’m doing a project about MIDI communication to start with juce. When I start the program MIDI input and MIDI output are running normally, I can receive information, but when I unplug the UBS power supply and plug in the program again, I can’t receive MIDI information. I need to restart the program again to run normally! How can I solve this problem? Does anyone know what to do? Thank you very much.

IIRC the juce MidiInput won’t reconnect automatically. You will need to store the last selected MidiInput name, and once it disconnects, you can start a timer to poll for either the selected name, or if you want for the next possible device and reconnect once one is available.

Both are valid strategies, depending on your preference.

Hope that helps

@daniel This is the code I listened to MIDI input:

void setMiDiInput(int index)
	{
		auto list = MidiInput::getDevices();
		deviceMangger.removeMidiInputCallback(list[lastInputIndex], this);
		auto newOutput = list[index];

if (!deviceMangger.isMidiInputEnabled(newOutput))
		{
			deviceMangger.setMidiInputEnabled(newOutput, true);
		}
		deviceMangger.addMidiInputCallback(newOutput, this);
		output.setSelectedId(index + 2, dontSendNotification);
		midiInputList.setSelectedId(index + 1, dontSendNotification);
		lastInputIndex = index;
	}

This is the code to call the timer:

void timerCallback() override
	{
		inp_now_item_list = MidiInput::getDevices();
		if (inp_now_item_list == inp_pre_item_list)
		{
			midiInputList.clear(dontSendNotification);
			midiInputList.addItemList(inp_now_item_list, 1);
			inp_now_item_list.clear();
			setMiDiInput(0);
		}
		inp_pre_item_list = inp_now_item_list;

}