Accessibility (screen reader) follows tabKey KeyboardFocus - but not for Sliders

I’m new to trying to get the Accessibility features working, but I’ve noticed that if you have VoiceOver turned on (Mac), when you use the tab key to move between KeyboardFocusable components (i.e. TextButtons, ComboBoxes), the screen reader follows the focus, and reads out each component. Great. Except it doesn’t work for Sliders, or in my case, Sliders with IncDec buttons used to enter values.

(I understand that you can use control+option+arrowKeys to move the screen reader, and gain access to everything including Labels etc. That’s not what I’m talking about; rather it seems the reader will also follow the tabKey to KeyboardFocusable Components. But not Sliders with text boxes.)

When you tab into a Slider, it makes it editable so you can enter a value (and opens a label’s TextEditor). But this results in no movement from the screen reader. It ignores that action. If you tab to another non-Slider component like a TextButton, then the screen reader jumps to that one, effectively having skipped the Slider.

Is there any way to force the screen reader to follow the tab key into the Slider?

If I use setWantsKeyboardFocus(true) on the Slider, then tabbing to it does make the screen reader follow it; however then it doesn’t activate the editor unless you tab twice. (First tab focuses the Slider, the screen reader reads it, but then you need a second tab to actually get into the text box).

Maybe I’m missing something here…

Is there something like grabKeyboardFocus() except for Accessibility focus?

I mean, maybe it’s supposed to work this way, but it seems remarkably inconsistent. I’ve put together a simple project that shows what I’m talking about.

FocusTraverseTest2.zip (12.2 KB)

When you turn on VoiceOver, it first places the Accessibility Outline around the first slider component and reads it.

Click in the Slider’s text box to focus it.