Adding Background Image - October 2019! [SOLVED] by cpr

Hi,

I’m new to JUCE and have been reading a lot the API and Threads on how to add a background image, I see no clear definitive answer to this question.

I have tried a few things that have been ‘SOLVED’ related to adding background image,
nothing works …judging by the screenshoots provided, seems the persons answering are using the old version/API.

Please can someone kindly tell me step by step how to add background image to my window.
using the latest JUCE 2019 API.

Many thanks,
Bubs

Here is the most straight forward method, which uses an ImageComponent. The other method is to draw it directly in the paint() method.
Add the image to the Projucer project, and use code similar to this:

class ExampleComponent : public Component
{
public:
    ExampleComponent ()
    {
        backgroundImage.setImage (ImageCache::getFromMemory (BinaryData::temp_song_image_1_png, BinaryData::temp_song_image_1_pngSize));
        // apply placement flags if needed (https://docs.juce.com/master/classRectanglePlacement.html)
        backgroundImage.setImagePlacement (RectanglePlacement (RectanglePlacement::stretchToFit));
        // add this first so it is furthest back in z order
        addAndMakeVisible (backgroundImage);

// add other components
    }
private:
    ImageComponent backgroundImage;

void resized () override
    {
        backgroundImage.setBounds (getLocalBounds ());

// positioning and size your other components
    }
};

For completeness, here is the paint() version:

{
public:
    ExampleComponent ()
    {
        backgroundImage = ImageCache::getFromMemory (BinaryData::temp_song_image_1_png, BinaryData::temp_song_image_1_pngSize);
    }
private:
    Image backgroundImage;

void paint (Graphics& g) override
    {
        g.drawImage (backgroundImage, getLocalBounds ().toFloat ());
    }
};
1 Like

Hey thank you very much for replying to me! appreciated!

This part is tripping me and many people up cpr!