Adding Juce to iOS project

I’m new to Juce although not to iOS development. I’m trying to add Juce to an existing iOS project in order to use the audio stuff. XCode 4.2.
Linking to the Juce.h file produces a handful of Symbol(s) not found errors. Including the amalgamated files gives a huge number of ARC related errors.
I have the Juce Demo project running on the iPad just fine.
Please can anyone give some advice on how to link to Juce in an existing project. Thanks in advance.

OK well…! I had to manually convert some of the classes to ARC, but going the amalgamated route has made my project compile.

Maybe I’m naive, but I have no idea what ARC is? (And google isn’t much help for such a common word)

Automatic Reference Counting:
http://longweekendmobile.com/2011/09/07/objc-automatic-reference-counting-in-xcode-explained/
I had to remove all the retain, release and autorelease calls, and insert bridge qualifiers where objects were being cast to void pointers.

While I am here Jules, hello by the way!
Is it possible to run the audio stuff without the GUI stuff? Because I get stuck on the assertion in ChangeBroadcaster:

// are you trying to create this object before or after juce has been intialised??
jassert (MessageManager::instance != nullptr);

But from a quick reading of some other forum posts, “broadcasting” is only for GUI.

Oh, automatic reference counting… I’ve not really looked into the details of how that works (but it sounds like an awful hack!)

If you’re using the new modules branch, then yes, you can just use the audio modules, and not the GUI ones. That’s one of the reasons I’ve restructured it all like that.