Architectural Best Practices - Workflow Tips & Tricks

Hello,

Would like to get people’s take on the cleanest, most extensible way to build an app that strings together audio generators/processors.

At the moment I’ve created a project using Audio Processors/Editors and an AudioProcessorGraph to chain them all together. It’s working fine and does what I’d expect but it’s really slow going. Every time I add a new feature/processor I have to create 4 files (two .cpps and two headers for the processor and editors respectively) with many, many lines of boilerplate. For example a trivial Panning dsp routine and attendant gui pan pot is several hundred lines of code long.

I have an ADSR, panning, and a simple wavetable osc and the project already feels bloated and is tiring to traverse. I’m a functional but not expert C++ coder so maybe I’m missing opportunities for optimization (consolidate function defs into headers?).

Ultimately I’d really like a quick, straightforward way to add new processing elements (filters, oscillators, envelopes, etc) with mapped gui inputs. Has anyone found a better, quicker way to iterate or is this just the nature of the beast? Have had a look at the doc examples on GitHub but nothing struck me as an obviously better solution.

Maybe I should prototype/experiment in a simpler language like SOUL and then port that code over? Or even write a template generator that scaffolds boilerplate for me? Any workflow tips and tricks you all have developed?

Thoughts?

1 Like

Just add your additional features into your EXISTING files instead of constantly creating new ones. Any basic JUCE project should have just one plugin processor and one editor. For your pan pot, just add the GUI rotary dial to your editor and add the DSP code (which could be a single pan() function) to your processor.