Audio buffers library

Hi to all,

For a project of mine I’ve started working on some custom audio buffers because I needed booth some normal and circular buffers that share the same API so that I can use them interchangeably in some algorithms without caring of which type they are.
Those buffers should came in two form: a “view” version, that act like a span and permit to operate on a block of memory it doesn’t own, and an “owning” version that allocate and manage his memory internally.
Also I wanted to create an abstraction that permit to iterate over those data and operate on them without using “raw” operation. The library have single channel buffers that can operate on a contiguous memory area and multichannel buffers that operate on multiple single channels. (I’ve not considered an interleaved case)

I somewhat managed to create the first version of the library, with many difficulties, but I’m not fully convinced by some design choices or solutions I’ve found (I’m still learning c++, and I could have made some big mistakes), so I would like to share my work with you hoping that can be useful to someone and to receive some suggestions and help from more experienced developers :slight_smile:

Here’s the link to repository on github: https://github.com/mix359/audioBuffersLibrary

Talking of design choice, one of the first one I’m struggling with is the idea to have in someway the ability to use all the basic functionalities of those buffers interchangeably. My first approach was to write some common interfaces for the various types and using polymorphism with virtual inheritance.