Basic of dynamic component creation

I’m new to juce, and a bit rusty with c++. I’ve got the sample apps in the extras folder running, but soon after I tried a component created with The Jucer - I got a leaked object detected. Nice feature to have by the way, to notify rusty programmers that they have gotten sloppy.

What did I forget to do? I created a textButton with addAndMakeVisible in my component’s creator, and the destructor calls deleteAndZero.

Eventually, my idea is to have an array of pointers to the dynamic objects I’m creating, to “free” them in the destructor.
I’m hoping to line these objects up in rows and resize them as their parent window resizes.

I know this is some basic stuff, but any suggestions would be helpfull. Including a referance to any juce related tutorial, or a sample application.

Post the code, and we’ll give ya hand! :slight_smile:

This old dog ain’t gone yet!

In the process of “cleaning” up the code to post it, I saw some faulty code in the parent component. Turns out it’s fairly straightforward to make dynamic components, at least so far.

Very nice that memory leaks are reported, notifying which object is doing it.

I’m sure I’ll have another simple question before too long.

Thanks for the offer!

Welcome !
You should take the habit of using RAII-pointers however, like ScopedPointer, instead of “deleteAndZero”, they remove a lot of the memory management headaches and are exception safe ! :smiley:

I’d also look into the OwnedArray class, especially if you need to keep track of all those objects.

OK, I’m going to have to read up on this stuff.

So far I was just doing a “proof of concept” build, but I did use addAndMakeVisible upon creation as well as deleteAllChildren in the
destructor. Is this just a case of there being a couple of ways of accomplishing the same thing - Or is there a difference?

http://ootips.org/yonat/4dev/smart-pointers.html#Why :wink: