Basic XML File Creation Help

Hey Guys,

i try to write some data in my GUI-Application to an xml File.
My target is to have a simple GUI, where is an editable label, and if i put some Text in there, that the App saves it in a XML File, and if i reopen the app that it reads from the XML File and puts the data back in the Labelfield.

I’m really new to c++ and Juce, but i guess i need to use the XMLElement, XMLDocument and XMLElement::writeToFile functions / classes, right?

May someone could give a simple step by step how they exactly work? The documentation is kind of confusing me.

Greetings,
Manuel

Here is some code I snipped out of one of my projects. I’ve left in just enough to help you see the basic write/read process.

void cParquetDeformationPlaygroundComponent::SaveParquetDeformationFile(const File& _parquetDeformationFile)
{
    XmlElement mainElement(kParquetDeformationMainTag);
    mainElement.setAttribute(kParquetDeformationVersionTag, String(kParquetDeformationVersion));
    mParquetDeformationComponent.ExportXml(mainElement);
    mainElement.writeToFile(_parquetDeformationFile, String::empty);
}

void cParquetDeformation::ExportXml(XmlElement& _parentElement)
{
    XmlElement* parquetDeformationElement = new XmlElement(kParquetDeformationMainTag);
    _parentElement.addChildElement(parquetDeformationElement);

XmlElement* nameElement = new XmlElement(kParquetDeformationNameTag);
    nameElement->addTextElement(String(mName));
    parquetDeformationElement->addChildElement(nameElement);

// etc
}

void cParquetDeformationPlaygroundComponent::LoadParquetDeformationFile(const File& _parquetDeformationFile)
{
	if (_parquetDeformationFile.exists())
	{
		XmlDocument xmlDoc(_parquetDeformationFile);
		ScopedPointer<XmlElement> mainElement = xmlDoc.getDocumentElement();

if (mainElement != nullptr)
		{
			// check the main tag
			if (mainElement->getTagName() == kParquetDeformationMainTag)
			{
				// verify version