Beginner type questions

I’ve just started poking around having a play with Juce.

Have to say it’s a truly amazing piece of work. It’s as though somebody was behind me listening to all the things I didn’t like about MFC/C++ Builder/wxWindows etc, took those comments and then went further than I could have imagined in fixing them all and then some and then some more. Makes me feel very small indeed!

Just got a few piddly questions:

1:FilenameComponent - is that going to get the Juce treatment rather than the bloody 'orrible (in Windows anyway) native drectory browser.

2:I can’t (because I’m a newbie?) get what what on windows would be called a modeless dialog window. If I have a ResizableWindow set on the desktop my main window can be put in front of it (it also appears on the taskbar which I don’t really want). If I set it to stay on top, it also stays on top of other apps. If I set it’s Component to be my main window I can’t move it outside the main window even if I call setConstrainer(0).

3:If I’m playing audio I can’t get at AudioTransportSource.resamplerSource or related properties - I’d like to be able to varispeed on playback. Is the only way to do this to create a separate ResamplingAudioSource object? Also, any quality settings?

Thanks,
Pete Gates

Welcome, and glad you like it. And if you’re any relation to Bill Gates, feel free to suggest he buys juce off me for a squillion dollars.

1 - you mean should it pop up a juce file chooser? I guess it could do, it’d just require a small tweak. Maybe could add it as an option

2 - not really sure what you’re after. Do you mean you want it just to stay in front of other juce windows? I’ve not got anything in place to do that at the moment, but on my to do list is something to enforce fixed z-orders between sets of windows