Best/fastest approach for sending periodic DMX data over a USB interface?

I’m working on a plugin which allows for control of DMX lighting within a DAW via a USB -> DXM interface.

At this point I have implemented all functionality I want in the plugin. I recently ran the plugin in Ableton for the first time. When the plugin is sending DMX data, and the plugin GUI is open, the Ableton interface slows way down. It’s almost unusable.

This is a relatively simple plugin that provides users with 512 channel parameters they can use to control a DMX universe. I want the plugin to send updated DMX packets (based on the processor’s current channel parameters) upwards of 40 times per second.

What is the best approach for sending periodic DMX data over a USB interface? I am new to threading and cannot figure out what I should do differently.

Here’s some additional info:

The Juce project source files (along with screenshots and release builds) are located in this Github repository.

I have a class, defined in UsbDmxPro.h that connects/communicates with a DMX Pro compatible device. This class inherits from the Juce Thread class. When the user hit’s connect, and a connection is successfully established, the class’s run() method sends a new DMX packet (based on the processor’s current parameter values) every 25ms.

void run() override {
	while (!threadShouldExit() && connected) {
		wait(25);
		sendDmx(*blackout);
	}
}

Thank you,
Spenser

If your sendDmx method returns in short time, I would save the effort for an extra thread and simply call from a Timer callback. Inherit from Timer, override the void timerCallback() override to call sendDmx and call startTimerHz (40); in the constructor…

Don’t call wait, if that’s what you did… let the timer do the periodic callback, since in the meantime other things can be worked on.

Thanks for the idea Daniel :slight_smile:

I looked at the the time it takes to run sendDMX. It was averaging 27ms. I was able to cut it down to 7ms.