Best way to save and load classes (with sequencer tracks)?

Hi,

I started programming a drum sequencer and am looking for advice.
What would be the cleanest way to save and load tracks.
I thought it would be possible to serialize the array of DrumTrack classes to a file, and load them later, but i see no such support in juce. Am I thinking in the wrong direction, or do i need an additional library ?

Who can advise me on a neat way to save and reload such a class ?

// The program is not yet usable, but here is a snippet of the class so far :
// I will post the link to my site on the forum as soon as it is up
(first trying to make it work)

class DrumTrack { public: String Name; int Length; int NoteNr; int Volume; UIButtons* TrackButtons; //for the moment i use button states for storing notes -- should have an alternative ? DrumTrack::DrumTrack(String Name,int Length,int NoteNr); String ExportTrack(void); };

Juce is so great !!! Thanks jules !
Regards
ignoratius

I’m not getting you. If you’ve serialized the data in some meaningful way, JUCE has plenty of tools for streaming the data to a file.

Assuming your data is serialized to some form of binary encoding, and not text, the easiest is probably just to use FileOutputStream.

hmm not sure if i understand you,
I will explain my point though:

I thought there could be an automatic way to save and later reload class instances. Some kind of persistence possibility, which i can inherit to my classes. I guess not

Would you suggest saving a binary dump of all instances,
and reloading them on import ? I thought this would not be feasible.

Anyway, i am now constructing xml elements for each track,
but it requires some coding for each property. I hoped some of you could tell me a better way