C++ constructor question from tutorial

Hi everyone,

I’m working through the tutorial Build a MIDI synthesizer and I am also pretty new to C++. At the moment I am trying to understand how the MainContentComponent is initialised.

As the tutorial states:

Our MainContentComponent class contains the following data members.

SynthAudioSource synthAudioSource;
MidiKeyboardState keyboardState;
MidiKeyboardComponent keyboardComponent;

The synthAudioSource and keyboardComponent members are initialised in the MainContentComponent constructor.

MainContentComponent()
    : synthAudioSource (keyboardState),
      keyboardComponent (keyboardState, MidiKeyboardComponent::horizontalKeyboard)
{
}

Now from what I can see here, the keyboardState variable is implicitly initialised by the default MidiKeyboardState constructor.

I have read that

non-static data members are initialized in the order they were declared in the class definition

So how can the synthAudioSource be initialised with the keyboardState ? Shouldn’t keyboardState be not-yet initialised since it is declared AFTER the synthAudioSource member?

I messed around with changing the order of the 3 declarations and it seems to compile fine in Xcode whatever order they are declared in. Is this just some compiler setting that will magically reorder the declarations or what?

The other thing that’s slightly confusing is that we are passing keyboardState to the initialiser of a SynthAudioSource instead of a SynthAudioSource object. I suppose that’s a C++ thing? I get that keyState is the required constructor argument for SynthAudioSource, so I assume that it’s a shorthand where providing an argument matching the type expected by the constructor will be passed through to the constructor - kind of like this: (?)

MainContentComponent()
    : synthAudioSource (new SynthAudioSource(keyboardState)),
      keyboardComponent (new MidiKeyboardComponent(keyboardState, MidiKeyboardComponent::horizontalKeyboard))
{
}