Callback lifetimes and std::unique_ptr

Let’s just ignore the associatedComponent lifetime for the moment, and concentrate on the callback stuff.

It looks like the method:

void AlertWindow::showMessageBoxAsync (MessageBoxIconType iconType,
                                       const String& title,
                                       const String& message,
                                       const String& buttonText,
                                       Component* associatedComponent,
                                       ModalComponentManager::Callback* callback)

first takes a raw pointer to a “callback”, but then turns this into a std::unique_pointer later on inside:

static std::unique_ptr<ModalComponentManager::Callback>
getWrappedCallback (ModalComponentManager::Callback* callbackIn, ...)
{
innerCallback = rawToUniquePtr (callbackIn)
}

where:

template <typename T>
std::unique_ptr<T> rawToUniquePtr (T* ptr)
{
    return std::unique_ptr<T> (ptr);
}

I’m not an expert on this stuff, but shouldn’t that initial call use some of the std::unique_ptr stuff to begin with?

Hey,

If i understand correctly your question, you’re worried about passing a raw pointer which is then wrapped into a unique pointer so it’s automatically deleted when destroyed. I think it’s fine as long as you ensure you don’t keep a ref or anything to the pointer you pass since its lifetime will now be managed by AlertWindow or whatever. I think it’s mentioned relatively clearly in the doc (“The callback object will be owned and deleted by the system”): JUCE: AlertWindow Class Reference

@param callback if this is non-null, the callback will receive a call to its
modalStateFinished() when the box is dismissed. The callback object
will be owned and deleted by the system, so make sure that it works
safely and doesn’t keep any references to objects that might be deleted
before it gets called.