CMake workflow and compiler flags, CPU settings

I started my first tries with CMAKE and JUCE. I’m a CMAKE beginner, but i was able to build the plugin with the command line, i also can open and build the project in CLion and export an XCode project.

I want to be able to build the plugins on all platforms with command line (expect the iOS build, where i want to use the XCode generator). I don’t know how i can configure things for each platform or if it isn’t required at all…

Would be great if someone can give me some answers to following questions:

1. I have a shell script that executes all the CMAKE build / install steps and triggers the CMakeLists.txt. I imagine that the CMakeLists.txt is the same on all platforms and i start the same CMAKE on windows with a windows batch file. Is that ok this way?

2. How can i configure for example static linking on windows or compiler optimisation flags for every platform? Is there a clean way to do this. I have tried target_compile_options but i’m not sure if it works (the flag is not set when i generate a XCode project). Any examples would be great.

3. Will it work out of the box in linux. Do we still use make directly or do we also use cmake on lunix and does it automatically output a *.so file?

I know that this is CMAKE related, but i really hope that i get some answers here and best practices to work with CMAKE and JUCE. In the end i want to have the same configuration like i had with projucer.

Any input is welcome.

This doesn’t answer all of your questions but I recently add cmake support to pluginval and at the same time added GitHub Actions CI so I now have a single script that builds the apps, installers and signs, notarises etc. on each platform: https://github.com/Tracktion/pluginval/blob/develop/install/build