Command manager does not react to default keypresses

Hi all! After a long absence I started playing around with JUCE again, and now I’m posting again on this forum… but this time as a clueless JUCE user, not as a juce developer :slight_smile:

I have an app (macOS) with some commands like Open, Save, and so on. I added a command manager and some command IDs and all that boilerplate, and I also added some default keypresses like this:

void getCommandInfo (CommandID commandID, ApplicationCommandInfo& result) override
    {
        switch (commandID)
        {
            case CommandIDs::open:
                result.setInfo ("Open...", "Opens an existing document", CommandCategories::application, 0);
                result.defaultKeypresses.add (KeyPress ('o', ModifierKeys::commandModifier, 0));
                break;
                // ...

Unfortunately however, the keypresses do not work. The option does show ⌘O next to it, and the main app menu flashes blue if I hit the key combination, but the action is not performed. It is only performed if I select “Open” with the mouse.

After an hour of digging and failing to understand why it doesn’t work, I thought it might be faster to post the question here. What did I miss?

Thanks,
Timur

Have you added CommandID::open to the array of commands in getAllCommands()? And have you added an action for the open command in your implementation of ApplicationCommandTarget::perform()?

It might be worth looking at KeyMappingsDemo.h in JUCE/examples/GUI as it’s a stripped-down example of getting some key mappings working.

Thanks much, Ed! Turns out I forgot this one line of code in my top-level component:

addKeyListener (commandManager.getKeyMappings());

Everything works now :slight_smile:

2 Likes

New problem: It only works as long as the command target is the application class itself.